Cheap Trick - Sex, America, Cheap Trick (1996) (4CD Box Set)

Category: Rock, Hard Rock, Arena Rock, Pop Rock, Power Pop
Label: Epic, Legacy
Sound: MP3 / 320 kbps
Size: 641 MB

Sex, America, Cheap Trick is a 1996 box set by the rock band Cheap Trick. It includes 17 previously unreleased songs, as well as the band's biggest hits.
Sex, America, Cheap Trick is a classic example of a botched box set. Spanning four discs and 64 songs, the box contains nearly all of the group's hit singles and an amazing amount of rarities -- a grand total of 30 outtakes, live tracks, demos, single versions, soundtrack songs, and B-sides. Despite all of the abundance of material, there are still a lot of essential items missing, as well as several odd inclusions. Many of the group's biggest hits and concert staples are present, but Cheap Trick classics like "He's a Whore," "Downed," "Come On, Come On," "Taxman, Mr. Thief," "California Man," and several others are inexplicably absent. Furthermore, the final two discs bog down with slick radio-ready pop, even though they rescue all the highlights from the band's decidedly uneven '80s recordings. Still, the rarities -- particularly single versions of early tracks like "Oh, Candy" and "Southern Girls," demos like "Fan Club," and a ripping live set -- are usually worthy, even if they might have been better showcased on a double-disc rarities set.

CD 1:

1. Hello There
2. ELO Kiddies (single version)"
3. Hot Love
4. Oh, Candy (single version)
5. Mandocello
6. Lovin' Money (previously unreleased)
7. I Want You to Want Me (alternate version) (previously unreleased)
8. Southern Girls (single version)
9. So Good to See You
10. Down on the Bay (live) (previously unreleased)
11. Mrs. Henry (live) (previously unreleased)
12. Violins (live) (previously unreleased)
13. Ballad of TV Violence (live)
14. You're All Talk (live)
15. Fan Club (demo) (previously unreleased)

CD 2:

1. Surrender
2. High Roller (alternate version)
3. On Top of the World
4. Auf Wiedersehen
5. I Want You to Want Me (live)
6. Clock Strikes Ten (live)
7. Dream Police
8. Way of the World
9. Gonna Raise Hell
10. Voices
11. Stop This Game
12. Just Got Back
13. Baby Loves to Rock
14. Everything Works If You Let It (alternate version)
15. World's Greatest Lover(demo)
16. Waitin For The Man / Heroin (live)

CD 3:

1. Day Tripper (live) (alternate unedited version)
2. World's Greatest Lover
3. I Need Love (demo) (previously unreleased)
4. I'm the Man (previously unreleased) (from the movie Rock Rule)
5. Born to Raise Hell (previously unreleased) (from the movie Rock Rule)
6. Ohm Sweet Ohm (previously unreleased) (from the movie Rock Rule)
7. She's Tight
8. Love's Got a Hold on Me
9. If You Want My Love (alternate extra bridge version)
10. Lookin' Out for Number One
11. Don't Make Our Love a Crime (demo) (previously unreleased)
12. All I Really Want (B-side)
13. I Can't Take It
14. Twisted Heart (previously unreleased)
15. Invaders of the Heart
16. Y O Y O Y

CD 4:

1. Tonight It's You
2. Cover Girl
3. This Time Around
4. A Place in France (previously unreleased)
5. Funk #9 (The Doctor demo) (previously unreleased)
6. Take Me to the Top
7. Money Is the Route of All Fun (previously unreleased)
8. Fortune Cookie (demo) (previously unreleased)
9. You Want It
10. The Flame
11. Through the Night (B-side)
12. Stop That Thief (previously unreleased in the U.S.)
13. I Know What I Want (live) (B-side)
14. Had to Make You Mine
15. I Can't Understand It
16. Can't Stop Falling Into Love
17. Come on Christmas

Link dead? Download this album here!

Welcome to Music Paradise: